LIU Update: Visit here for more information.
STUDENT SERVICES

Academic Calendar


Notification of Student Rights Under Section 224-a of New York State Education Law – Absence Due to Religious Observation

Under § 224-a of the NYS Education Law: "Any student in an institution of higher education who is unable, because of his or her religious beliefs, to attend classes on a particular day or days shall, because of such absence on the particular day or days, be excused from any examination or any study or work requirements. It shall be the responsibility of the faculty and of the administrative officials of each institution of higher education to make available to each student who is absent from school, because of his or her religious beliefs, an equivalent opportunity to register for classes or make up any examination, study or work requirements which he or she may have missed because of such absence on any particular day or days. No fees of any kind shall be charged by the institution for making available to the said student such equivalent opportunity."

Students who anticipate being absent because of a religious observance should, whenever possible, notify faculty in advance of such anticipated absence.

Spring 2021                  
 
Weekday classes begin Monday, February 1
Registration and program changes Monday, February 1 - Sunday, February 14
President's Day - Classes in session  Monday, February 15 
Summer Registration begins (tentative) Tuesday, February 16
Fall 2021 Registration begins (tentative) Friday, February 19         

Last day to apply for May degree Friday, February 26
Last day for withdrawal/ Opt Pass/Fail for full-semester classes Friday, April 9
Semester classes meeting Monday through Friday end Friday, April 30
Final examinations-undergraduate and graduate Friday, May 3 - Thursday, May 7
Commencement Ceremony (tentative) TBA
Conferral of May degrees Friday, May 15

Classes Begin - 2nd Five Week Session

Monday, June 22

Registration/Programs Changes for 2nd Five Week Session ends

Tuesday, June 23

Weekend Sessions Classes begin

Saturday, June 27

Registration/Programs Changes end for weekend classes

Monday, Julne 29

Independence Day - holiday - no weekend classes

Saturday, July 4

Last day to withdraw (or Opt P/F) from 10 & 12 week session

Thursday, July 9

Last day to apply for September degree

Friday , July 10

Last day to withdraw (or Opt P/F) from 2nd Five week session

Thursday, July 16

Last day to withdraw (or Opt P/F) from 12 week session

Thursday, July 23

Last Class/Finals for 2nd Five week and 10 week sessions

Thursday, July 23