MUSIC

Music Faculty

BrassCoaching/AccompanimentConductingEnsemblesGuitarJazzMusic EducationMusicianship/Composition/Music HistoryMusic Technology/Entrepreneurship/Production (MTEP)PercussionPianoStringsVoiceWoodwinds

BRASS

Curtis Hasselbring (Jazz Trombone)
B.M. Jazz Performance, New England Conservatory
M.M. Jazz Performance, Mason Gross School of the Arts at Rutgers University
www.curha.com
curtis.hasselbring@liu.edu

Andrew Kemp (Trumpet)
B.M., M.M. in Orchestral Performance, Manhattan School of Music
andrew.kemp@liu.edu

Andrew Madej (Tuba, Euphonium)
Director, LIU Post Brass Ensemble
B.M., Oberlin Conservatory of Music
M.M., New England Conservatory of Music
andrew.madej@liu.edu

Jeanine Nagao (French Horn)
B.M. and M.M. in Horn Performance, The Juilliard School
D.M.A. in Horn Performance, State University of New York at Stony Brook
jeanine.nagao@liu.edu

Ronald Stanton (Trombone, Euphonium)
Director, Brass Studies
B.S., Hofstra University
M.M., Queens College, CUNY
ronald.stanton@liu.edu

[Back to Top]

COACHING AND ACCOMPANIMENT

Richard Iacona (Vocal Jazz Coaching)
B.S., University of North Carolina at Pembroke
M.A., Long Island University
richard.iacona@liu.edu

Victoria Schwartzman (Vocal Coaching)
B.M., Piano Performance, Longy School of Music of Bard College
M.M., Piano Performance, Longy School of Music of Bard College
Artist Diploma, Longy School of Music of Bard College
Graduate Diploma, Collaborative Piano, New England Conservatory
www.victoriaschwartzman.com
victoria.schwartzman@liu.edu

[Back to Top]

CONDUCTING

Susan Deaver
Director, LIU Post Flute Ensemble
B.M., M.M., D.M.A., Manhattan School of Music
www.susandeaver.com
susan.deaver@liu.edu

James McRoy
Chair, Department of Music
Director, Bands
Director, LIU Post Wind Symphony
Director, LIU Post Wind Ensemble
B.A., M.S., Queens College, CUNY (Aaron Copland School of Music)
D.A., Ball State University
www.jamesmcroy.net
james.mcroy@liu.edu

Jennifer Scott Miceli
Director, Long Island Sound Vocal Jazz
Conductor, LIU Post Women's Choir
B.M., University of Hartford (Hartt School of Music)
M.M., Ph.D., University of Rochester (Eastman School of Music)
www.jennifermiceli.com/
jennifer.miceli@liu.edu

Eric Stewart
Director, LIU Post Orchestra
B.M., M.M., Composition, Peabody Conservatory of Music
D.M.A., Composition, University of Toronto
eric.stewart@liu.edu

[Back to Top]

ENSEMBLES

Bands – James McRoy
Chair, Department of Music
Director, Bands
Director, LIU Post Wind Symphony
Director, LIU Post Wind Ensemble
B.A., M.S., Queens College, CUNY (Aaron Copland School of Music)
D.A., Ball State University
www.jamesmcroy.net
james.mcroy@liu.edu

Brass – Andrew Madej
Director, LIU Post Brass Ensemble
B.M., Oberlin Conservatory of Music
M.M., New England Conservatory of Music
andrew.madej@liu.edu

Chorus – Edward Norris
Director, LIU Post Chorus
B.A., M.S., Queens College, CUNY (Aaron Copland School of Music)
edward.norris@liu.edu

Flute – Susan Deaver
Director, LIU Post Flute Ensemble
B.M., M.M., D.M.A., Manhattan School of Music
www.susandeaver.com
susan.deaver@liu.edu

Guitar – Harris Becker
Director, Guitar Studies
Director, LIU Post Guitar Ensemble
B.A., M.A., Long Island University
www.harrisbecker.com
harris.becker@liu.edu

Jazz Ensemble and Jazz Combo (Instrumental) – Jeff Lederer
Director, MTEP Program
Director, LIU Post Jazz Ensemble
Director, LIU Post Jazz Combo
B.A., Oberlin College
M.M., Woodwind Performance, Western Michigan University
www.littleimusic.com
jeffrey.lederer@liu.edu

Jazz (Vocal) – Jennifer Scott Miceli
Director, Long Island Sound Vocal Jazz
Conductor, LIU Post Women's Choir
B.M., University of Hartford (Hartt School of Music)
M.M., Ph.D., University of Rochester (Eastman School of Music)
www.jennifermiceli.com/
jennifer.miceli@liu.edu

Orchestra – Eric Stewart
Director, LIU Post Orchestra
B.M., M.M., Composition, Peabody Conservatory of Music
D.M.A., Composition, University of Toronto
eric.stewart@liu.edu

Percussion – Frank Cassara
Director, Percussion Studies
Director, LIU Post Percussion Ensemble
B.M., M.M., Manhattan School of Music
www.frankcassara.com
frank.cassara@liu.edu

[Back to Top]

GUITAR

Harris Becker (Classical Guitar and Lute)
Director, Guitar Studies
Director, LIU Post Guitar Ensemble
B.A., M.A., Long Island University
www.harrisbecker.com
harris.becker@liu.edu

James Erickson
B.F.A., M.A, Long Island University
www.ericksonguitar.net
james.erickson@liu.edu

Mark Marino (Jazz Guitar)
mark.marino@liu.edu

[Back to Top]

JAZZ

Curtis Hasselbring (Jazz Trombone)
B.M. Jazz Performance, New England Conservatory
M.M. Jazz Performance, Mason Gross School of the Arts at Rutgers University
www.curha.com
curtis.hasselbring@liu.edu

Richard Iacona (Jazz Piano, Vocal Jazz Coaching)
B.S., University of North Carolina at Pembroke
M.A., Long Island University
richard.iacona@liu.edu

Jeff Lederer (Jazz Saxophone)
Director, MTEP Program
Director, LIU Post Jazz Ensemble
Director, LIU Post Jazz Combo
B.A., Oberlin College
M.M., Woodwind Performance, Western Michigan University
www.littleimusic.com
jeffrey.lederer@liu.edu

Mark Marino (Jazz Guitar)
mark.marino@liu.edu

Jennifer Scott Miceli (Vocal Jazz)
Director, Long Island Sound Vocal Jazz
Conductor, LIU Post Women's Choir
B.M., University of Hartford (Hartt School of Music)
M.M., Ph.D., University of Rochester (Eastman School of Music)
www.jennifermiceli.com/
jennifer.miceli@liu.edu

Brian Pareschi (Jazz Trumpet)
B.A., University of Rochester
M.M., Manhattan School of Music
brian.pareschi@liu.edu

John Ray (Jazz Bass)
Manhattan School of Music
john.ray@liu.edu

[Back to Top]

MUSIC EDUCATION

Lennon Ashton
B.M., Music Education, Long Island University
Graduate Studies (M.A. in Music Theory), Queens College, CUNY (Aaron Copland School of Music)
lennon.ashton@liu.edu

Edmund Chiarello
B.S. Music Education, M.A. Secondary Education, Hofstra University
Specialist Diploma; School Administration and Supervision, CUNY at Queens College
edmund.chiarello@liu.edu

Karen Gellert
B.A., M.M., Manhattan School of Music
karen.gellert@liu.edu

Danielle McRoy
B.A., State University of New York at Geneseo
M.A., Long Island University
Ed.D., Teachers College, Columbia University
danielle.mcroy@liu.edu

James McRoy
Chair, Department of Music
Director, Bands
Director, LIU Post Wind Symphony
Director, LIU Post Wind Ensemble
B.A., M.S., Queens College, CUNY (Aaron Copland School of Music)
D.A., Ball State University
www.jamesmcroy.net
james.mcroy@liu.edu

John Meschi
Director, Music Technology
B.S., New York University
M.A., Long Island University
myweb.liu.edu/jmeschi/
john.meschi@liu.edu

Jennifer Scott Miceli
Director, Long Island Sound Vocal Jazz
Conductor, LIU Post Women's Choir
B.M., University of Hartford (Hartt School of Music)
M.M., Ph.D., University of Rochester (Eastman School of Music)
www.jennifermiceli.com/
jennifer.miceli@liu.edu

Elise Sobol
B.A., New School for Social Research
M.A., Teachers College, Columbia University
Ed.D., St. John’s University
elise.sobol@liu.edu

Mark Viavattine
B.M., University of Rochester (Eastman School of Music)
M.M., University of Miami
www.markviavattine.com
mark.viavattine@liu.edu

[Back to Top]

MUSICIANSHIP, COMPOSITION & MUSIC HISTORY

Harris Becker (Musicianship, Music History)
Director, Guitar Studies
Director, LIU Post Guitar Ensemble
B.A., M.A., Long Island University
www.harrisbecker.com
harris.becker@liu.edu

Frank Cassara (Music History)
Director, Percussion Studies
Director, LIU Post Percussion Ensemble
B.M., M.M., Manhattan School of Music
www.frankcassara.com
frank.cassara@liu.edu

Richard Iacona (Musicianship, Composition)
B.S., University of North Carolina at Pembroke
M.A., Long Island University
richard.iacona@liu.edu

Paul Kim (Musicianship, Music History)
B.M., M.M., Manhattan School of Music
Ph.D., New York University
solo.to/paulkim
paul.kim@liu.edu

Jeff Lederer (Composition, Music History)
Director, MTEP Program
Director, LIU Post Jazz Ensemble
Director, LIU Post Jazz Combo
B.A., Oberlin College
M.M., Woodwind Performance, Western Michigan University
www.littleimusic.com
jeffrey.lederer@liu.edu

Eric Stewart (Musicianship, Composition)
Director, LIU Post Orchestra
B.M., M.M., Composition, Peabody Conservatory of Music
D.M.A., Composition, University of Toronto
eric.stewart@liu.edu

Carl Strommen (Composition)
B.A., Long Island University
M.A., City University of New York
www.carlstrommen.com
carl.strommen@liu.edu

Stephanie Watt (Musicianship, Music History)
Director, Music Theory
Director, Piano Studies
Director, Keyboard Club Concert Series
B.F.A., M.A., Long Island University
stephanie.watt@liu.edu

[Back to Top]

MUSIC TECHNOLOGY, ENTREPRENEURSHIP & PRODUCTION (MTEP)

Lennon Ashton
B.M., Music Education, Long Island University
Graduate Studies (M.A. in Music Theory), Queens College, CUNY (Aaron Copland School of Music)
lennon.ashton@liu.edu

Curtis Hasselbring
B.M. Jazz Performance, New England Conservatory
M.M. Jazz Performance, Mason Gross School of the Arts at Rutgers University
www.curha.com
curtis.hasselbring@liu.edu

Jeff Lederer
Director, MTEP Program
Director, LIU Post Jazz Ensemble
Director, LIU Post Jazz Combo
B.A., Oberlin College
M.M., Woodwind Performance, Western Michigan University
www.littleimusic.com
jeffrey.lederer@liu.edu

John Meschi
Director, Music Technology
B.S., New York University
M.A., Long Island University
myweb.liu.edu/jmeschi
john.meschi@liu.edu

[Back to Top]

PERCUSSION

Frank Cassara
Director, Percussion Studies
Director, LIU Post Percussion Ensemble
B.M., M.M., Manhattan School of Music
www.frankcassara.com
frank.cassara@liu.edu

[Back to Top]

PIANO

Eugene Feigin
B.M., Music College of Moscow 
M.M., Gorky State Conservatory
eugene.feigin@liu.edu

David Holzman
B.M., Mannes College of Music
M.M., Queens College, CUNY (Aaron Copland School of Music)
www.battlemuse.com
david.holzman@liu.edu

Richard Iacona (Jazz)
B.S., University of North Carolina at Pembroke
M.A., Long Island University
richard.iacona@liu.edu

AeRee Kim
M.M., The Juilliard School of Music
D.M.A., State University of New York at Stony Brook
aeree.kim@liu.edu

Paul Kim
B.M., M.M., Manhattan School of Music
Ph.D., New York University
solo.to/paulkim
paul.kim@liu.edu

Stephanie Watt
Director, Piano Studies
Director, Music Theory
Director, Keyboard Club Concert Series
B.F.A., M.A., Long Island University
stephanie.watt@liu.edu

[Back to Top]

STRINGS

Karen Gellert (Bass)
B.A., M.M., Manhattan School of Music
karen.gellert@liu.edu

Laura Mole (Violin)
B.A., Music; M.A., Music Performance Queens College, CUNY (Aaron Copland School of Music)
laura.mole@liu.edu

John Ray (Jazz Bass)
Manhattan School of Music
john.ray@liu.edu

Veronica Salas (Viola)
D.M.A., M.M.A., B.M.A., Juilliard School of Music
veronica.sales@liu.edu

[Back to Top]

VOICE

Barbara Fusco (Mezzo-Soprano)
B.A., Graduate Studies, Long Island University
barbara.fusco@liu.edu

Marla Waterman (Soprano)
B.A., Wells College
M.M., Northwestern University
maria.waterman@liu.edu

[Back to Top]

WOODWINDS

Levana V. Cohen (Clarinet)
B.M., Washington State University
M.M., Stony Brook University
D.M.A., Stony Brook University
www.levanaclarinet.com
levana.cohen@liu.edu

Susan Deaver (Flute)
Director, LIU Post Flute Ensemble
B.M., M.M., D.M.A., Manhattan School of Music
www.susandeaver.com
susan.deaver@liu.edu

Alexander Hamlin (Saxophone)
B.M., Saxophone Performance, University of Rochester (Eastman School of Music)
alexhamlin.com
alexander.hamlin@liu.edu

Jeff Lederer (Jazz Saxophone)
Director, MTEP Program
Director, LIU Post Jazz Ensemble
Director, LIU Post Jazz Combo
B.A., Oberlin College
M.M., Woodwind Performance, Western Michigan University
www.littleimusic.com
jeffrey.lederer@liu.edu

Karla Moe (Flute)
Director, Woodwind Studies
B.A., St. Olaf College
M.M., Manhattan School of Music
karla.moe@liu.edu

[Back to Top]